Tag Archives: Gemini

Nominees for Sat. Gemini Awards

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series: Shawn Ashmore _ "Terry"; Tom McCamus _ "Waking Up Wally: The Walter Gretzky Story"; Tony Nardi _ "Il Duce Canadese"; Peter Outerbridge _ "Under the Dragon’s Tail"; Michael Therriault _ "Prairie Giant: The Tommy Douglas Story"; Ian Tracey _ "Intelligence."

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series: Wendy Crewson _ "The Man Who Lost Himself"; Joanne Kelly _ "Playing House"; Michele-Barbara Pelletier _ "Trudeau II: Maverick in the Making"; Klea Scott – "Intelligence"; Victoria Snow _ "Waking Up Wally: The Walter Gretzky Story."

Best Host or Interviewer in a Sports Program or Sportscast: Michael Landsberg _ "Off the Record With Michael Landsberg"; Ron MacLean _ "CBC’s Hockey Day in Canada"; Brian Williams _ "Torino 2006 _ the Olympic Winter Games on CBC."

Best Writing in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series: Ian Adams, Riley Adams, Michelle Lovretta _ "Hunt for Justice: The Louise Arbour Story"; Suzette Couture _ "The Man Who Lost Himself"; Chris Haddock _ "Intelligence"; Gordon Pinsent _ "Heyday"; Bruce M. Smith _ "Prairie Giant: The Tommy Douglas Story"; Andrew Wreggitt, Hugh Graham _ "One Dead Indian."

Best Direction in a Dramatic Program or Mini-Series: Christian Duguay _ "Lies My Mother Told Me"; Bruce McDonald _ "The Love Crimes of Gillian Guess"; T.W. Peacocke _ "Canada Russia ’72"; Tim Southam _ "One Dead Indian"; Stephen Surjik _ "Intelligence."

Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program: "Big Sugar," Galafilm Productions Inc; "CBC News: Sunday Beyond Words: Photographers of War," CBC Television; "House Calls," National Film Board of Canada; "Memory for Max, Claire, Ida and Company," Allan King Associates; "No More Tears Sister," National Film Board of Canada.

Best Writing in a Comedy or Variety Program or Series: Mark Farrell, Brent Butt, Paul Mather, Kevin White _ "Corner Gas"; Ian MacDonald, Jennifer Kennedy _ "The Wilkinsons _ Ulterior Designs"; Dan Redican _ "Burnt Toast"; Steve Smith, Rick Green, David T. Smith _ "The Red Green Show"; Mary Walsh, Ed MacDonald _ "Hatching, Matching & Dispatching"; Kevin White, Irwin Barker, Gavin Crawford, Mark Critch, Barry Julien, Bob Kerr, Gary Pearson, Carolyn Taylor, Jennifer Whalen _ "This Hour Has 22 Minutes."

Best Comedy Program or Series: "Corner Gas"; "History Bites: Mother Britain"; "Jeff Ltd."; "Kenny vs. Spenny 2"; "Naked Josh II"; "The Rick Mercer Report."

Best Performance by an Actress in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role: Martha Burns _ "Slings & Arrows Season 2"; Martha Henry _ "At the Hotel"; Erin Karpluk _ "Godiva’s"; Andrea Menard _ "Moccasin Flats Season III"; Cara Pifko _"This Is Wonderland Season III."

Best Performance by an Actor in a Continuing Leading Dramatic Role: Gil Bellows _ "Terminal City"; Nigel Bennett _ "At the Hotel"; Nicholas Campbell _ "Da Vinci’s City Hall"; Mark McKinney _ "Slings & Arrows Season 2"; Peter Outerbridge _ "ReGenesis II."

Best News Anchor: "CBC News at Six: Halifax," Norma Lee MacLeod; "CBC News: The National," Peter Mansbridge; "Global National With Kevin Newman," Kevin Newman.

Best Dramatic Mini-Series: "Human Trafficking"; "Prairie Giant: The Tommy Douglas Story"; "Trudeau II: Maverick in the Making."

Best Dramatic Series: "Moccasin Flats Season III"; "ReGenesis II"; "Slings & Arrows Season 2"; "Terminal City"; "This Is Wonderland _ Season III."

Best Ensemble Performance in a Comedy Program or Series: Roger Abbott, Don Ferguson, Luba Goy, Jessica Holmes, Craig Lauzon, Alan Park _ "Royal Canadian Air Farce"; Brent Butt, Lorne Cardinal, Fred Ewanuick, Gabrielle Miller, Eric Peterson, Nancy Robertson, Tara Spencer-Nairn, Janet Wright _ "Corner Gas"; Al Goulem, Cas Anvar, Paula Boudreau, Ari Cohen, Louis-Philipe Dandenault, Kate Greenhouse, Tracey Hoyt, Richard Jutras, Christian Potenza, Swikriti Sarkar _ "The Tournament Season 2, The Warrior Women"; Cathy Jones, Gavin Crawford, Mark Critch, Shaun Majumder, "This Hour Has 22 Minutes"; Steve Smith, Bob Bainborough, Laurie Elliott, Rick Green, Jeff Lumby, Patrick McKenna, Wayne Robson _ "The Red Green Show."

Viewers’ Choice Award: Voting took place over the Internet for best lifestyle host. The nominees: Marilyn Denis _ "CityLine"; Jeff Douglas _ "Things That Move"; Mike Holmes _ "Holmes on Homes"; George Stroumboulopoulos _ "CBC News: The Hour"; Debbie Travis _ "Debbie Travis’ Facelift."

21st Annual Gemini Awards Red Carpet Update PLUS Additional Presenters

(TORONTO – November 1, 2006) – Rolling out the red carpet…with just three days left until the 2006 Gemini Awards Global Television today announced the addition of some of Canada’s brightest television personalities to this year’s roster of Presenters.

Additional Presenters include:

Mike Holmes, Holmes on Homes

George Stroumboulopoulos, The Hour

Marilyn Denis, CityLine

Jeff Douglas, Things That Move

The ET Canada Gemini Red Carpet will be buzzing, as Holmes, Stroumboulopoulos, Denis and Douglas join fellow presenters, Shawn Ashmore, Brent Butt, Nicholas Campbell, Wendy Crewson, Cheryl Hickey, Evangeline Lilly, Shaun Majumder, Cara Pifko along with Special Musical Guests, Lukas Rossi and Gilby Clarke.

Entertainment Tonight Canada Live: On the Gemini Red Carpet: Beginning at 9 pm ET/PT, host Cheryl Hickey along with ET Canada’s Senior Entertainment Reporter Rick Campanelli and Vancouver Correspondent Erin Cebula will welcome the stars to the 21st Annual Gemini Awards as they arrive at the River Rock Casino Resort.

This ET Canada red carpet special is followed by the hour-long Gala Awards broadcast beginning at 9:30 pm ET/PT on Global.


Senior Entertainment Reporter Rosey Edeh along with savvy stylist Chris Hyndman of So Chic dish on nominee and presenter fashions from a remote location directly overlooking the Red Carpet arrivals. The ET Canada Team

of reporters will also keep viewers up to speed on all of the backstage buzz in the ET Canada Gemini Lounge.

21st Annual Gemini Awards Fast Facts:

GEMINI STYLE: Renowned Canadian fashion leader Vladimir Markovich, Founder and Creative Director of BC Fashion Week is the official stylist of the 21st Annual Gemini Awards. Celebrities to be dressed by Markovich include:

Evangeline Lilly in Asluxe, Shawn Ashmore in VanGuard and Andrea Muizelaar in Chloe Angus.

GEMINI CHIC: Canada’s Next Top Model 2006 winner, Andrea Muizelaar of Whitby, Ontario will be the official trophy host for the 21st Annual Gemini


GEMINI VIBE: Highlander star Jim Byrnes lends his voice as the official announcer of the Awards…AND…internationally renowned Canadian DJ, Kid Koala is confirmed as the house band for the show. Using his turntable as a musical instrument, Kid Koala creates his unique sound by dragging vinyl across a needle at varying speeds, altering the pitch of notes, and changing the way you hear music forever.